“You ask me what I like about Texas……” {Mississippi Family Photographer}

DSC_2248

You ask me what I like about Texas, I tell you it’s the wide open spaces! It’s everything between the Sabine and the Rio Grande. It’s the Llano Estacado,  it’s the Brazos and the Colorado; Spirit of the people down here who share this land! It’s another burrito, it’s a cold Lone Star in my hand, it’s a quarter for the jukebox, boys. Play the sons of the mothers of the bunkhouse band!” ~Gary P. Nunn

For those of you don’t know me, I grew up in Texas. If you know any Texans, you know that we are all obnoxious about how amazing our state is. Sure, I love the Mississippi Delta and this is my home now but you know what they say…. You can take the girl out of Texas but you can’t take the Texas out of the girl. A few weeks ago I got to travel to my home state to visit friends and family. We stayed with one of my closest friends and my daughter’s godmother. While we were there we had an afternoon to just drive around a ranch and enjoy the outdoors. I took it as an opportunity to do a long overdue photoshoot with my daughter. Maggie Mae got to meet her first horse, we watched the cows, we ate dewberries straight off the vine, we picked wildflowers, and we explored an abandoned barn. It was perfect in every way.

DSC_2192

DSC_2262

DSC_2276

Leave a Reply

