“We are the breakers of our own hearts”-Eudora Welty ………..{Mississippi and Texas Photographer}

To understand the world, you must first understand a place like Mississippi…..”William Faulkner

How do you say goodbye to your home? How do you let people know how much they mean to you and how much of an impact they have had on your life for the past few years? If I knew the answer to these questions I would have written this post two weeks ago. I’ve started and stopped constructing this blog post more times than I can count so I’ll just say it: my family and I are moving to College Station, Texas at the beginning of next year. There, I said it. It’s out there. That was REALLY hard.

I am excited to move back to the place I’m from. As a Texas Aggie, how could I not be excited to move back to College Station? But the Mississippi Delta has been my home for eight years. It has shaped me into who I am today. This is where we bought our first home, started our family, became a part of a community, and where I started and found success with my business. I saw our lives and our futures here. Saying goodbye to everyone who has impacted our lives is really  hard. Harder than I’d ever dreamed it would be.

We are connected in so many ways to more people than I could ever try to mention here. From the godparents of my child, to the women I run with every week, to the friends who are our family, to every single client who has ever trusted me with their story…….so many people that have impacted my life and the lives of my family. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. THANK YOU. This fall will be bittersweet. I will cherish every family session, every wedding, every moment with friends I have left as a resident here. 

With that said, goodbye isn’t forever.  It has been my dream for many years to specialize in weddings and to travel. This is my chance. I want to book weddings all over the United States. I want to continue to come back to Mississippi and see friends and family and capture the delta weddings that are near and dear to my heart. When I’m in the area, I would love to squeeze in a few family sessions as well. You have not seen the last of me.

If you have a wedding scheduled with me next year, this won’t affect you at all. I can’t wait to come back here and capture your love story. If you are planning a wedding for next year or beyond, I hope you will consider me to be your storyteller. And if you know anyone who lives in Texas, please pass my name along. I would LOVE to capture the stories of families and couples in College Station, Houston, Austin, Waco, and beyond.

Here’s to the future and here’s to the Mississippi Delta for making me who I am today.

 

4-Reception-334

Leave a Reply

